Albuquerque Theft Crime Defense Attorneys
Standing Up for Your Rights After a Theft Arrest
A theft charge, no matter how minor, can drastically change your life. It will remain on your criminal record for years and impact your ability to find a job, apply for housing, and even go to college. In addition, you may have to pay hefty fines and spend time in jail. But these cases are complicated, and arrests can occur due to simple mistakes. You do not deserve to have your life turned upside down because of one mistake.
If you or someone you love was arrested on theft charges in Albuquerque, let our legal team at Raymon Law Group dig into the details of your case and fight for your freedom. Our Albuquerque theft crime defense attorneys can employ several defenses on your behalf to get your charges reduced or dismissed altogether. Do not wait. Call us at (505) 390-1040 for a free case evaluation.
How Theft Charges Are Prosecuted
New Mexico law defines theft crimes as “larceny,” which literally means the “stealing of anything of value that belongs to another.” Therefore, theft can range in form of offense to include property, services, or money that has been taken. Offenses under the umbrella of “theft crimes” include:
- Criminal Mischief
- Credit Card Theft
- Identity Theft
- Obtaining Services or Accommodations Falsely
- Receiving Stolen Property
What you are charged with will vary based on your alleged actions during the crime. Defendants can face charges if they take another person’s property through fraud, such as by lying, falsifying facts, or other types of deception. As a result, the penalties also vary, depending on the charge you are facing and the value of the stolen property.
An experienced New Mexico theft defense lawyer will know how to help you and represent your best interests in court.
Penalties for Theft in New Mexico
The main penalties you can face for a theft crime in Albuquerque are:
- Petty Misdemeanor: Up to six months in jail, a maximum fine of $500.
- Misdemeanor: Up to one year in county jail, a maximum fine of $1,000.
- 4th Degree Felony: Up to 18 months in state prison, a maximum fine of $5,000.
- 3rd Degree Felony: Up to 3 years in state prison, a maximum fine of $5,000.
- 2nd Degree Felony: Up to 9 years in state prison, a maximum fine of $10,000.
You may also be ordered to pay restitution to the alleged victim.
Fighting for Your Freedom
Beating a theft charge and staying out of jail requires a strong defense. The prosecutor will use all the resources of the local courts and Albuquerque Police Department to put you behind bars. But a skilled theft defense attorney can look over the details of your case, find weaknesses in the prosecution’s arguments, and fight to get your charges dropped so that you can get back to your life.
Raymon Law Group may argue several defenses on your behalf, including:
- You had a legal right to take the property.
- You acted with the owner’s consent.
- You believed you owned the property and took it by mistake.
- Someone else took the property, and it is a case of mistaken identity.
- The value of the property is less than the charges you are facing, and you may be eligible for a reduced sentence.
- The police illegally searched your property to seize evidence.
- There is not enough evidence to convict you.
Call Today to Discuss Your Case
Being arrested for theft is a scary experience, but you should not give up hope. Our skilled Albuquerque criminal defense attorney can look over your case in a free confidential consultation and guide you through the process of building your defense. We can negotiate with the prosecution to get your charges dropped pre-trial or launch our own aggressive defense before a jury. If you were arrested on a theft charge, call Raymon Law Group immediately at (505) 390-1040.
Criminal Defense Attorneys
Get a FREE Strategy Session and Case Review